The season carried on the upward surge of clubs with again four divisions and 42 clubs finishing the season. In division one the EFFINGHAM ARMS the most improved team with Brian Winders in charge. They ran away with this division with a young BRECKS FC team being runners up, lost to that division was ALBION ROAD. 

In division two, NALGO FC ‘B’ were the winners with SILVERWOOD CMW being runners up. In this division the record score for the league at that time was recorded with SILVERWOOD CMW beating TRANSPORT 19-3 and this team also beat SPRINGFIELD FC 18-2.

Division three saw the emergence of CANKLOW COMMUNITY ASSOCIATION. In this divison  and they were undefeated with 131 goals scored with numerous large scores namely 14-1 against SUNNYSIDE FC, 10-1 and 11-0 against the luckless QC ATHLETIC and 12-0 against STAGS HEAD.

In division four new club DENE BROOK took the championship with LONDON SCANDINAVIAN becoming runners up, who recorded the highest score in that division 16-0 against J RANKS.


In the knock out cup a match between CANKLOW COMMUNITY and KIMBERWORTH PARK on Herringthorpe Stadium saw what possibly was the best match played in the cup in this league with KIMBERWORTH PARK being

beaten by CANKLOW COMMUNITY after JOHN HARRISONS side going very close in overturning the odds against them

Previous Page